Beauty / Fashion / Girlfriends / Inspiration

Blanche MacDonald.

Last week, I had the pleasure of attending Blanche MacDonald’s Annual Fashion Show on behalf of BeCultured.Ca. I have to admit I was a little nervous because I didn’t know anyone AND this was my first official fashion show. But you don’t get where you want to be by sitting on the sidelines, right? :) So I walked in, grabbed a glass of wine and started introducing myself to anyone that looked interested in meeting someone new.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Coincidentally, two of the girls I introduced myself to happened to be the new graduates designing looks in the show. Their names were Katy and Caitlin and they have been friends since they started the program at Blanche MacDonald. Not only did we have something easy to chat about given the commonality of our names, but they were super sweet girls about my age. I don’t want to give too much away before my official article on BeCultured, but above is a photo of Katy, Caitlyn and I and below is one each of their designs:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And the fashion! A cropped, lace top paired with high waisted, oxblood trousers by Colleen Schneebeli. A floor-length ruffled dress paired with a structured, minimal black blazer by Jena Lewis. Different variations of cloaks by five different designers. Josephine Li had two beautiful looks that showed off her affinity for deep, blue velvet and a very feminine silhouette that you could have sworn came from Kate Middleton’s own closet. A beautiful cream, sleeveless top by Leah Evans that transformed into a stunning evening gown when the shoulders were let down halfway down the runway. The talent was limitless and the designs were gorgeous.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One of my favorite things to do during fashion week is to check out the variations in hairstyles between different lines, so I was really curious to see what they would come up with given that they had to style for 20 distinctly different designers. The main theme for the hair was natural texture and it was executed with such talent. On each model, it looked like the stylists used a matte spray and given that Oribe sponsored the show, I would assume that Oribe’s Dry Texturizing Spray was the product of choice. There was no shine or gloss and the end result was a few strands left around the face and a ponytail pulled low in the back with two separate ponytail holders adding volume and rough dimension lower down the ponytail. The makeup was the perfect complement to the hair. Every model wore a turquoise blue eye shadow that rimmed along the bottom and top of the eye and a bright, matte red lip. It was exactly what was called for to contrast the subtle hair and the neutrals of many of the designs each model wore.

My first fashion show was such a great experience. The designs were definitely on trend based on what we saw on runways this fall, the people I met were so great, and the creativity of the hair and makeup was inspiring. Be sure to check back for my work in BeCultured.Ca and see some more official photos and more detailed information about the clothing. If you don’t already, follow me on Twitter at WithLove_Katie or subscribe to this blog by entering your email to the right and you will always stay on top of what’s next at With Love, Katie! :)

♥Katie

3 thoughts on “Blanche MacDonald.

  1. Pingback: A Look Ahead: Blanche MacDonald Fashion Show 2012 | BE.CULTURED

Leave a Reply

