Inspiration

So, This is the New Year…

New year, new job, new last name. It’s been a crazy few months! For the last five months or so, I’ve been focusing on myself. I know that is so Eat, Pray, Love of me to say. Especially having just gotten divorced. But I am completely and utterly the happiest I have been in a long time and I feel so much like the woman I’m supposed to be. Needless to say, I’m so grateful to get to this New Year and officially wipe the slate clean. This year, I’m going to continue to focus on myself and finding out what I truly want in life. I’ve been pretty successful finding these things out about myself thus far, but I know that it’s an evolution and I’m committed to the process. To get things started, I decided to write down a list of all the things I know about myself that will never change. All of the things I haven’t been comfortable with in myself or tried to change for someone else. I’m committed to embracing who I truly am with full force this year. This definitely doesn’t mean that I will stop trying to be better. If I don’t spend every day working on being a better person, than I have wasted my time. So, please allow me to introduce myself. This is some good, some bad, but definitely all me.

  • My room stays messy, mostly with piles of clothes on the closet floor and tons of books and papers.
  • I’m forgetful and sometimes it takes me two days to get a ten minute chore done.
  • I’m a procrastinator.
  • I can be opinionated and passionate.
  • I am late to everything… literally everything. My watch is set 5 minutes ahead and that doesn’t even help because I always rationalize that I have an “extra” 5 minutes.
  • I can be prideful. I will drive around for an hour trying to find my way before stopping to figure out where I am just because I think I might be able to figure it out.
  • I like to do things my way. Even if it makes no sense at all and it actually takes more time than a more efficient way, I do it because it makes sense to me. And if it doesn’t affect anyone else, I will continue to do it my way.
  • I am independent and like to have space to explore. I get so excited hopping on the bus or jumping on a plane by myself with no agenda for what I’m going to do or who I’m going to meet.
  • I need quiet time everyday. Usually an hour before bedtime, I need to read, write, and meditate to stay sane.
  • Sometimes I ask a lot of questions and sometimes I say nothing for two hours.
  • I’m easy to read. How I feel is always right there on my face and I’m terrible at hiding it.
  • I tend to be optimistic and believe the best in people.
  • I believe that anyone can change. And I believe in second chances.
  • I love to shop. Even if it’s once a month with ten dollars, I have such a blast walking around all day and deciding what to buy and people watching.
  • I snort… unexpectedly and loudly.
  • Sometimes I don’t sort my laundry before washing it. It’s not just laziness, I just hate the idea of doing a load with three white items in it.
  • I love to take baths… like, probably three times a week. That is nonnegotiable.
  • I always have library fines. I check out seven books at a time and promise myself I’ll turn them in on time, fully knowing I won’t.
  • I speed… I really can’t help it. I look away from the speedometer for ten seconds and I’m going 80.
  • I absolutely love that I get to wake up every day and do what I love to earn money. For the rest of my life, I will always be involved in doing hair to some capacity.
  • I adore children.
  • I love surprises. Flowers at work, handwritten notes, last minute trips. I love it all!
  • I love country and rap. Not all of it, but you will always find various albums of country and rap in my collection.
  • I want to be a wife and mother. The most beautiful thing in life is to love someone so deeply that the only natural outpouring of that love would be to create new life with them. And I know if I raise loving children with a man I adore, I will have done what I wanted in life.
  • I love baking and always have too many brownies, cakes, or cookies in my kitchen.
  • I hate being precise if I don’t have to. Pictures aren’t level, recipes are measured exactly, and I don’t color in the lines. That’s just how it is.
  • I love movies and I believe days off are sometimes best spent laying around in pajamas, eating takeout, and watching good movies.
  • I’m always cold. Heater on, fleece zipped up, socks on. That’s how I like it.
  • I’m terrified of water. I will never be a good swimmer and I will always panic if I’m standing on a dock and people start roughhousing near me.
  • I’m a tomboy and a girly-girl. I love wearing heels and makeup as much as I love running with my REI gear on.
  • I love massages, facials, and pedicures. One of the best birthday presents I ever received was an hour long massage.
  • I’m a huge nerd. I love to read and watch documentaries.
  • I am incredibly impatient.
  • Running is my sanity. If I am in a funk, it’s probably because I haven’t spent enough time exercising.
  • I need goals to stay motivated. And I believe in setting really high goals so that I go out of my way to hit them. Because of that I don’t reach all of my goals, but I do much better than if I hadn’t set any. And because I’m such an optimist, I’m okay with that.
  • I believe in the power of persistence. If you don’t go after it, you probably won’t receive it.
  • According to a study I read once, my role in my family growing up was the nurturing mediator. I believe that was the case and often find myself in that role as an adult with friends, coworkers, and family.
  • I love very deeply. I have lost (and almost lost) a lot of people in my life too soon and because of that, I’m very open about my feelings.

♥Katie

One thought on “So, This is the New Year…

  1. This is quite a list! I am glad you decided to post again– it has been too long : ) Keep looking for things to love about yourself– you are you’re own: created by God. I LOVE the part about being open with your feelings– even though they aren’t always clear.

Leave a Reply

