Boys / Community / Inspiration

The Big Elephant

Let’s get straight down to business. There’s a big, fat, pink elephant in the room that we all know about. And that elephant is that I have been very noticeably missing from this blog. First, I have to say I’m sorry for the abandonment. This blog has been on my mind daily and each time I’ve sat down to write a new post, I’ve been at a lost for words. Literally.

This summer, I filed for divorce from my husband of four years. No details necessary, but needless to say, all of my mental energy and time has been spent on ultimately making the decision to file, going through with it, and leaning on precious friends and family as much as I could in the meantime to deal. It has been a very difficult few months for me, and my writing and creative outlets have definitely taken a back seat. I appreciate your patience with me and understanding of the gravity of the situation.

I’m back now, though, and feeling better than ever. My mental juices are flowing and I’ve got some great content ready to publish for this new season. Graham Green said, “Writing is a form of therapy; sometimes I wonder how all those who do not write, compose, or paint can manage to escape the madness, melancholia, the panic, and fear which is inherent in a human situation.” And I’m happy to report that throughout this summer, my best friends have been pen and paper. And though I couldn’t find any creativity to write new content, I was able to work hard on a memoir I started at the beginning of the year and work through my “human situation” with this organic therapy. I feel very healthy and optimistic for my future, and I’m ready to enter this new season with a smile.

So, while I enter this new chapter of life by moving to Seattle, taking on a new job, and living with a good friend of mine, I will be very present on this blog. I can’t wait to finally start publishing again and allowing my creativity to take form in blog posts. Thank you for your continued support for me and my work and I hope you enjoy the content coming soon!

♥Katie

Leave a Reply

